Derelict Thursday: The Wellington Arms

This is on a busy road, and when I've driven past it I haven't had time for a proper look. What caught my eye in those short glimpses, though, were the traces of quite vivid red clinging to the old sign, and as you can see I decided to make those a feature of today's shot. 

Although I was on foot this time, shooting it wasn't easy. Even with the 10-20mm at its widest setting, I had to step a couple of paces out into the road to get it like this. That wasn't quite as risky as it sounds - the pub is just "downstream" of a pelican crossing (that's "pedestrian light-caontrolled", for those who didn't grow up in the UK!), so whenever that stopped the traffic I had a few seconds to dash out into the road!

Although I've gone for mono for dramatic effect, it's a pretty building when seen in its true colours. It has lovely rich brickwork, and some of that is done in glazed brick (like some of the older Tube stations in London). And while I was there I heard that its future may look rosy... A man who came up and asked me why I was taking photos turned out to work for the property developers who have bought it; they plan to create a shop on the ground floor, with flats above. I asked him when, and he's hoping it'll be soon, but apparently the council are taking a long time to grant final permission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.