Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Murmuration

I've just got home this evening and in the fading light I was treated to a smallish murmuration of Starlings in my own back garden. Whilst not as dramatic as the ones at Brighton and elsewhere this was really the first time I have seen a display with my own eyes. 

After spotting it and watching the display for a few moments I dashed inside and grabbed my camera and took some shots and filmed it for about a minute. The display carried on for perhaps about 10 minutes before the bulk of the group broke away and flew over the house leaving a smaller group to perform for a couple more minutes. Magical.

I particularly like this shot as they are almost forming a heart shape and they seemed to fit in with a band of lighter cloud above them.

Photo Soc this evening. Have a good night everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.