Missycat

By Missycat

Our big moment.....

Today (5 February 2015) I have taken up Blipcentral's 'big moment' challenge and posted a picture taken on our wedding day 37 years ago.  How modest our special day was compared to the more lavish and styled weddings of today!  After the marriage and wedding breakfast we had a bit of an evening 'do' at the local cricket club which I remember was thought quite unusual at the time and only the 'young' guests came along to that!:  today an all day event seems de rigeur.  I recall that the stationer had misspelt both our names on the  specially ordered serviettes so I had to pop out the day before the wedding to buy ordinary plain white ones. I did my own hair and make up ( not very well!) and we made all the buttonholes ourselves. A good friend drove me to the church in my dad's car. It was a rather homespun day but  nevertheless a very enjoyable one.

I don't think that there is anything that I WISH that I'd known then but the young woman in the photo was not too keen on becoming a parent at the time and didn't know how much she would love  eventually becoming a Mum.
Today, I rather wish that I could still get into that wedding dress and am still thinking about whether or not to brave a 'today' picture of us both!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.