Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Kett's Oak

Another day of strange, mixed weather.  I took this picture of Kett's Oak at about 1645.  I had been out to Wymondham to do some shopping, and stopped off on the way back.  I was very lucky with the light - this was the picture I took first.  I walked around to the other side of the tree and tried some backlit shots, and by the time I walked back to the car, the sun had completely set and the superb light on the tree was gone.

I dropped off dad's shopping and when I came out to drive home, it was snowing!

The tree is on the B1172 between Hethersett and Wymondham (actually the old A11).  It is a much restored tree, propped up on one side, bound with iron hoops and infilled with concrete.  But according to a plaque underneath it, it was recognised as "one of 50 Great British Trees" in 2002, during the Golden Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II, in recognition of its place in the national heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.