A red door replaced

We have some new street furniture on Edinburgh's Royal Mile: cash machines disguised as phone boxes. Next they'll be fooling us into thinking that those old blue police boxes are devices for travelling through time...

I really enjoyed my day at work today. I held two project tutorials at the start of the (official working) day and a PhD supervision at the end. In between these were my four hours of classroom teaching with the final year students. They particularly enjoyed the bibliographic pub quiz that I had prepared for them. I provided beer mats and served (ginger) beer in an attempt to create an authentic atmosphere, and they contributed to the authenticity in true pub quiz competition style by arguing over the award of points. I also took along four packs of specially commissioned Top Trumps cards for them to play a couple of games together. Knowledge Management Top Trumps is based around knowledge management tools/techniques and allows the players to compare tool /technique characteristics such as return on investment, level of engagement, cost etc. (Just in case you think it's all fun, fun, fun we started the class with a conventional lecture, and then discussed two peer-reviewed articles on the theme of the lecture that they had read in advance of class. We are very serious when required.)

Towards the end of the working day I had a lovely phone call with a colleague at another university about some joint work that we have planned for the summer, discovered that a good friend has been awarded a chair, and received excellent news on a PhD submitted in November

Perhaps I should ask my boss whether I can change my contract so that I only work Thursdays..?

Exercise today: morning running loops in 28'34", sit-ups, weights and walk to work (1 hour) (under another glorious sunrise).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.