Journey Through Time

By Sue

IKEA

So, Bill says, "Let's go to IKEA and look at footstools."  What has gotten into this man?  No, really.  We bought one small sofa and he's turning into a crazy decorator person  And who am I to complain about a little trip to IKEA, so off we go.  

When IKEA came to Portland, it was exactly the same as when Krispy Kreme Donuts opened a store.  The local populace goes berserk.  Cops had to direct traffic.  A special parking area opened up, for overflow parking,  in a massive vacant lot and there were shuttles to the store.  Shuttles!!  It's just a store, people.  And maybe this isn't a good time to tell you that I parked in that massive lot also, not wanting to be left out of the opening weekend festivities.  But, I walked to the store, dammit!  No shuttle for me.   

The first 10, 25, 50, 100 people...I forget the exact number...were the ones who got a free poang  chair.  I wasn't crazy enough to camp out overnight or get in line at 4 a.m., so didn't get the chair.

I don't get to IKEA that often, but it's fun to look.  When I went with my aunt, we had to find the shortcut through the top deck, as she was tiring out.  So this time, with Bill,  we kept following the arrows and I found departments I didn't know existed.  I may never find it again, if I go back.  I should have left breadcrumbs.  It's a massive store and even on a Thursday it was pretty busy.  Didn't find any footstools that we liked.  

Then, we went to  Home Goods.  Good grief, this man is obsessed!  I happily tagged along. Nothing there that would work for us, but Bill got to see that store, which is rated highly with my aunt.  She loves to go and look at the art and lamps.  And it's a much, much smaller store, and you don't need a map to find your way to the exit. 

We went back to Vancouver and went to our mall.  I had a book to get at the library and Bill wanted to check out Macy's furniture.  That didn't take long and then we hiked to the other end of the mall to the library and then back again, which was our exercise for the day.   The wind and rain had picked up, so we were happy to get back home.  And the only photo I took, was of IKEA.  

Hope all is well my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.