Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Dandelion

They're surely a lovely sight, but...

Some time ago, a friend of mine bought herself a house with a large overgrown garden. She is not a meticulous gardener and likes a touch of wilderness. But the frontgarden was so overgrown with weeds she felt she had to do something about it. I agreed to spend a day helping her and was very happy it turned out nice and sunny.

About two hours later I wished it was raining instead.

The part of town she lives in is build on a dune and the ground is very sandy. The only gardening tools we had were a spade and a rake. And there were taproots everywere. We fought hard to remove the tapering roots from the dried- out soil, but I'm sure we didn't remove all of them. That means the plants, dandelions most of them, will reappear sooner or later. I'm planning to give my friend a special knive I've seen in a gardening catalogue.

We had tea, and then tried to carry some fresh compost soil from the heap at the back of the garden to the front. When we both broke down, I told my friend to plant potatoes instead- I think her garden's just perfect for them ;-)

We're enjoying a beautiful sunny day today at Bremen. Both my cats are asleep on my taproot- free balcony. The birds are singing and I'm feeling happy and content.

I wish you a good time, too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.