Swanning around

I had a hospital appointment at 9 this morning at Orthotics so it was  an early start. I was literally in there for about 3 minutes. They are going to send me another pair of insoles but thinner ones to go in my sandals and I have a phone number that I can call if I have any problems or need another pair.
Mike had gone to Dobbies for Breakfast as he was giving blood at 10am so wanted to make sure he had something to eat before he went. I met him there. I'm trying to be good so just had some of his tea.
We drove back down the Beauly Firth. The tide was in and there were plenty of ducks. We saw these swans in one of the fields. There must have been about 50 altogether. These are Whooper swans and spend the Winter here in family groups. Most come from Iceland and we will be following them back in April. Out of all the swans they probably have the longest, non stop journey. They have actually been recorded on 'RADAR flying six times the height of Ben Nevis at the speed of140km/hr assisted by a following wind. 
Each swan can be identified by the markings on their bills as they are all individual. Their necks are longer than mute swans and their bills are black and yellow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.