HerbSusan

By HerbSusan

I’m an alien ...

This is the lovely Ana affirming her oath to become a British Citizen … she’s maintaining dual nationality, so she’s still Croatian. Ana asked me to join her and her husband, at the ceremony - she was therefore accompanied by a couple of republicans.
Her oath included pledging allegiance to the Queen and we could have joined her in reciting the affirmation… we asserted our right to respect our freedoms and didn’t - nor did we singing the national anthem. Ana was highly entertained but pointed out she didn’t have a choice.
I bought Ana some flowers – wanting them to somewhat symbolic, I thought they should be British flowers. I picked a large bunch of Daffodils. When I explained to the florist why I’d chosen them and she said, “They aren’t English, they’re Welsh.”
I responded with, “That’s British.”
“Oh yes!” She replied, “That should be one of the questions they need to answer before they get their citizenship.”
As I paid I asked, “Aren’t these Cornish?”
The young lady nodded, “Yes, that’s right.”
I pointed out, “Cornwall is in England.”
She shook her head, “No! Cornwall’s in Wales.”
I asserted, “No! It’s in the South West of England.”
She laughed, “Are you sure? "
Well one of us would fail the citizenship exam.
 

Sting 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.