Going Underground

I made it back to London! It was quite an eventful journey. I was on my way home from my cousin's fiance's lovely bridal shower, thinking my train was at 8:00. I double-checked and realised my train was at 18:00 and I have poor 24-hour clock skills! I ended up with half an hour to get home, finish packing, and make my way to the station. In 5 minutes with the help of my mum I managed to throw all my stuff in a bag, and then my dad drove me to the station (quite fastly). 

"People must think I'm a boy racer... I'm fifty-four!" 

I got to the platform with one minute to spare - only to find my train had been delayed by 50 minutes! I hopped on the next train to London that arrived but it was such a long journey. Flooding in the north and signalling issues in the south meant we were diverted through the west midlands.  At last, I managed to carry all my heavy bags off the train and onto the tube and arrived a Gloucester Road! A short walk to Evelyn Gardens was made much longer by my heavy suitcase but, at 11:00, I eventually made it! 

It was so good to see my friends again, and I had a good catch up with them in the common room. One of my friends kindly carried my case up three flights of stairs to my room for me! 

Earlier in the day was Nicole's bridal shower and I feel like I should write about it since it was so lovely. I even had a name tag with "Groom's cousin" on - so everybody got to know each other! The food was amazing. There was a delightful spread for afternoon tea, and incredible cakes and sweets for desert. Plus a few glasses of Prosecco! We had a few games, like the one where you have a sticker with a person on and have to ask yes/no questions to find out who you are. (I was Cinderella.) It was so nice to spend some time with my family before I went back to London. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.