Suburban Living

By amandarosephoto

Betty Rubble Bread

What can I say?
I started the Whole30 / Paleo thing 6 days ago, well, when I say started, I mean I'm trying to start.
Day 1 - Had to finish half a tub of ice cream to make room in the freezer for all the healthy meals I've prepared for the following week.
Fail.
Day 2 - Realised that I still had a few slices of bread left over.
Knowing that I can't have peanut butter or toast for the next 30 days, I used them to have peanut butter on toast.
Fail.
Day 3 - Somehow managed to defrost the one meal left in the freezer that, of the 4 main ingredients, 3 are 'banned' on the Whole30 plan.
Fail.
Day 4 - (Officially day 1 as I failed the first 3) Actually ate 'Paleo/Whole30 approved' meals all day.
Woo hoo!
Day 5 - Those who follow know yesterday was AP awards presentation day. Got through the champagne reception without a drop of alcohol (not such a toughie as I don't like champagne) avoided the bread at the sit down meal, which itself was all 'approved' food. Yay me. Then, we won our Gold Good Service Award and I had the honour of collecting it from the stage. My moment in the spotlight got the better of my nerves and a glass of white wine was consumed. In my defence, 1 glass in 5 hours worth of free flowing alcohol isn't so bad. Is it? Yes, it is if you're on the Whole30 program..
Fail.
Day 6 - so here we are, should be celebrating almost a week of healthy eating and I am still on day 1. I miss bread. I don't think I want to be a cave(wo)man anymore.
I do know that I want to have an ache free head and to have the energy to actually do something before and after work.
The wonders of the interweb came to the rescue. A whole30 / Paleo approved recepie for bread, courtesy of The Cooking Caveman (Yes, seriously)
Almond Butter (like peanut butter but not forbidden)
Eggs.
Lemon juice.
Bicarbonate of soda.
30 mins in the oven. Done. That's it. I added a few mixed seeds and I can honestly say that this is the most delicious and easy to bake bread ever.
Think I might just be a good cave(wo)man after all.
Yabadabadoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.