Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Saying goodbye to your home

Jordan lives around the corner from Denmark Street. I went back there today because I heard the police had raided the squat and more closures enforced. We both of us speculated about the changes being made in Soho in the name of Crossrail and how the area will inevitably be sanitised and become unaffordable.

The picture is taken in Denmark Place, beside Hank's guitar shop. For decades musicians have unofficially fly posted this wall with news of bands or gigs. Today the end is boarded up. Two days ago demolition had begun, although the back of the alley revealed more of the story.

More Denmark Street

Meanwhile, they had also started to demolish the Curzon Cinema. I took my snaps while I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.