From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

End of a weird week....

I can honestly say that this has been one of the strangest weeks I have had in a while. Don't get me wrong, I have loved being here as much as I always do when I'm here in Scotland.

It's been a week of extreme ups and downs particularly at the start of the week when I was sat on the ground before being helped home by a stranger. I've felt tired and headachy all week but I suppose it goes like that sometimes.

I've spoken more to people from work this week than I have for years and that's really good. Working from 'home' really does work well for me and as you know, I've been up here for at least a week per month for nearly three years now. That and the fact that our contractor back at the council house in Solihull thought that I lived up here all the time and just went down there occasionally makes me think it would make more sense to do that properly. I've put the feelers out and have had positive feedback from my own section and also HR.

The wheels grind slowly but I'll cancel my West Midlands bus pass next week! That's a fine start!

Work was fine and I am more than halfway through altering all the absence reports in time for the end of March. It's all about monitoring and statistics this days in businesses of all descriptions. I remember someone asking me years ago if you actually had to die on council premises to qualify for 'Death in Service' benefits. I just had visions of people being propped up at their desks like El Cid leading his army into battle with a broom (or something) keeping him upright so no one would know he was dead. No idea why I thought of that today.

Mom wrecked the front door on the way out this morning. It wasn't deliberate but one of the mortise locks had worked its way loose and stopped the door shutting properly. It's all sorted now anyway thank goodness. Probably Girvan Harbour tomorrow as I fancy a picture of Ailsa Craig. I want my ashes scattered there to mingle with the poop of 60,000 assorted birds! I have always had lofty ambitions!

That's it. I went out with mom after work and bought my train ticket to the airport on Sunday.

As Arnie said, 'I'LL BE BACK!'

Track? Paul Weller today - Brand New Start

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.