Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Dancing cow

This cow in this gift shop jiggles night and day, as the outside lights change from blue, to green, mauve and red.

All of the gift shops on Gijon, and there are many of them, sell cow mementos of one type and another (Asturias being famously pastoral). Yet they all seem to resemble black and white friesians, instead of the typical fawn coloured Asturian cattle, such as the Asturian Mountain and Asturian Valley breeds.

I suppose all the nick-nacks are made in China anyway and no one really cares. Pity.

Postscipt: It turns out that the milk cartons from the big Asturian dairy 'Central Lechera Asturiana' have black and white cows on them and their produce is known nationwide. Perhaps black and white cows are associated with Asturias for that reason.

Nevertheless I'm sure I see a lot more cows of traditional pale brown appearance in the countryside ... and I think they they look nicer.

Next time I'm in the countryside I'll have to take a clipboard and do a cow colour count.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.