Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Cyclops - On Ice

I have called this greylag goose 'Cyclops' because it only has one eye.
It lost its left eye in a close encounter with the resident male mute swan during the breeding season almost 2 years ago on May 17th 2013.

I gave a fuller account with my blip on 2nd september 2014.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4734157

The gory aftermath of the clash is on my Flickr photostream.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/gen2/8748346726/

It has coped very well but has been lucky that so many people visit the park with free food handouts because it is the only one of its kind that has overwintered here. It maybe cannot cope so well flying in a flock.

While the pond has been frozen, I have been going up every couple of days with grain for it. Others feed it bread but that attracts seagulls and it cannot cope with too many of them flapping around its head.

Excuse my late post this evening, but GIMP froze on me after one and a half hours work and I had to start again. It needed a lot of tone control as it was contre-jour and was thus in danger of being either a silhouette or shown against a washed-out white background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.