Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

My father

My father is a very talented man.  
He's a carpenter and an artist.
...a fisherman.
...a yachtsman and kayaker.
...a hunter.
...a foodie.
Just to name a few of his roles.

Among many other things he makes excellent "harðfiskur" (dried fish), which is an Icelandic delicacy.  I like it...well, apart from the smell.  Great snack with a spread of butter.
My husband is going to attend a þorrablót tomorrow where the guests bring something to the buffet table of old Icelandic food.  Daníel asked my father if he could spare some of the "harðfiskur" to bring to the buffet?  He graciously agreed to share with us a few of the remaining fish-fillets, even though he'll probably soon run out.  He goes fishing in the spring and summer and it's a long process to dry the fish and make good "harðfiskur".  My parents use it as a snack during the winter-months and share it with family and friends.

Here he is taking a break in the afternoon and chatting to us in his workshop near the marina.

And for those of you interested in lots of snow:  Here are some excellent recent photos from snow-covered Akureyri.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.