Drawn back to the water again

I had a doctor's appointment early this morning, and it had to be at our alternative surgery, in the suburbs of Gloucester. I met the new doctor (to me) who is one of the various German anthroposophical doctors who come to our practice, for practice.

After a useful consultation, I headed to a big supermarket to do some shopping and get discounted fuel. The added bonus was that I could return to Gloucester Quays again, so after parking I walked the short distance to the canal tow path to see what was on offer. There were the usual number of pedestrians using the path as well as many of the shop assistants taking the fag breaks beside the water.

Five narrowboats were moored near to the shop and I watched the owners doing the chores, as well as hanging the washing out and walking the dogs. On the far bank a lone fisherman had all the gear but didn't seem able to use it. A swan in very fine condition wandered up the canal and came over to me, hoping to be fed I suppose.

After a while i was considering leaving when I noticed two ducks flying towards me from the main docks near Gloucester city centre. I tracked them with my camera as they approached but I couldn't get a good focus, and they flew away down the canal for some hundreds of yards. I kept watching where they were flying to, when I saw them bank round as if they were planes preparing their final approach. I then realised that they were going to land on the water quite close by, and here they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.