Salute to our firefighters

The south west of our state has had the most terrible bushfires for the past couple of weeks - over 130,000 hectares have been burnt.  So far, no lives have been lost and minimal damage to property. A couple of houses, some sheds, fences have gone, but at one stage it was thought the entire town of Northcliffe would be lost.  A wind change and some precipitation helped. 
 Unfortunately so much bush has gone I hate to think of the native animals, birds, reptiles that have perished.
The firefighters, both professional and volunteer, have been so brave and determined and have saved so much they deserved recognition.

I was intending to snap the sunrise from Kings Park this morning, but as I drove past the UWA campus, I saw the lights shining on the marble wall of the UWA club.  I thought the reflection from the eucalypts being devoured by the flame- like lights was too good to miss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.