Dinner

Despite pouring rain, and a rather late night at book group last night, we have had a very relaxing day today. I'm staying with my friend Marcia and her husband, Steve and in between retracing old steps, we sat in front of their fire and talked or read.

Last night Marcia and I went to book group (a group of women I treasure despite occasionally trying idiosyncrasies of personality.) We have been meeting for close to 20 years and always manage to combine a good discussion with a delicious dinner.

Today began with a trip to Peet's and a revival of one time twice weekly coffee meetings with a third book group/swim team member, Anita.

It was a matter of a few steps to Red Bird, my favorite clothing store. OilMan is very happy we no longer live within walking distance of this high end boutique, but I enjoy visiting my friend Kim and her mother Karen who own it. Today they had a visiting jewelry maker from Santa Fe. I have a couple of his pieces and enjoyed meeting him.

Steve and Marcia and I had dinner at a restaurant down the street called Toast. It had just opened when we moved and we never went there, but it was excellent, with perfect comfort food for a rainy day. I took a picture of, you guessed it, the kitchen where the chef had time to chat with a few of his guests.

I'm now about to fall asleep to the sound of the still falling rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.