Red sky at night

I was getting a bit short of ideas for today's blip when I spotted this subtle salmon pink colouring in the sky.

A short walk down to a very muddy field produced this lovely view.

Unfortunately meeting some friends along the way and then discovering that my telephoto had sustained some damage in transit from the far east, meaning that I had a struggle to get the lens cap off,  meant that it was rather dark by the time I took the shot.  No tripod meant a high ISO so it is a bit noisy.

The lens is OK and I managed to remove the damaged  filter without too much difficulty.  Thank goodness for sacrificial protective filters.  It's the second time that one of my lenses has been saved by a protective filter.

PS unfortunately uploading to Blip has done something strange with the colour and the redness is far from what I would call subtle.  I have heard other people complain about incorrect colour values with the new Blip.  I am converting to jpeg using sRGB colour space.  I wish Blipcentral would fix some of these irritations

PPS I've desaturated it slightly and nudged the white balance slightly so it now resembles the original more closely

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.