Worth the rush

I was sitting at the computer at 5.15 this evening, getting my Blip ready. I'd been to Oban today and while there I went to Oban Camera Centre to spend the vouchers I'd accumulated as prizes at the Photographic Club. I had four dating back to 2010 but they wouldn't accept them, quite fairly I suppose! I had two more recent ones so decided to redeem them for a new lightweight Velbon tripod. I took a picture of the shop front as a 'relevant Blip'.

However, while setting this up I glanced out of the north-facing window which looks out on to the hillside, to find a sky striated with pale pink and blue. A glance behind me showed an even better view through the patio doors. I grabbed my camera, put on a jacket, whistled for the cats and rushed up to our garden viewpoint.

I took countless pictures, of which this is one. Exposing for the brightest patch of sunlight has enhanced the colour a little, but I stayed up there for 40 minutes and watched it turn to a deep red before leaving for home, cats running behind. I wonder what they think of such a scene? I'm sure they think nothing of it, having seen many such sights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.