Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MARRIED ON A WEDNESDAY?

Mr. HCB and I were married on a Wednesday because my stepfather was a taxi driver and told me he couldn't afford to take a Saturday off!  Sadly, my mother and stepfather were not that helpful with regard to our wedding, but we have always felt that our friends and church family "pulled out all the stops" and made our wedding day one to remember.

We have had our "ups and downs" over the years, as I guess most couples have but we have stuck together through the good and not-so-good times and the "glue" that has kept us together, as well as our love for each other, is our Christian faith.

We have laughed, cried, done exciting things, silly things, and even stupid things but after almost 47 years we are still together and we still love each other and I hope we have been good parents and grandparents.

I didn't realise back then just how laid back Mr. HCB was and believe me, "laid back" can be so annoying and frustrating especially for someone as spontaneous as me!  I know I am "Number 1" in his life at the moment (February) but gardening and cricket will soon oust me from that position - but then isn't that what marriage is all about - giving the other space?  

"To keep your marriage brimming,
with love in the wedding cup,
whenever you're wrong, admit it;
whenever you're right, shut up."
Ogden Nash

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.