SoozaDay

By soozaday

The Big Moment

We got married in our backyard, 26 years ago. Yes, there is a basketball hoop in the upper right corner. A good friend made my outfit, and I have a bouquet of sweet peas from the garden. Better check out the shoes. Neither of us has worn our costume since then, although the hope for me was to have something I could use later on. Mr S's father is at his side, and my mother is at the right end of the row. Our sons are standing by. 

We had a lovely party on a bright sunny afternoon, with a tiered cake from our favorite bakery and a tableful of tasty catered finger foods. I think it was the only time in my life I ever had someone else make the food. We had entertainment from a local women's band that played Balkan music. One of our young guests, a little girl about six years old, was terribly shocked and disappointed that I did not wear a traditional wedding gown;  apparently she had led a sheltered life.

Twenty-six years. It was an odd and bittersweet project, scanning these negatives.So many people in the photos are no longer with us.

But we are going strong. As for Mr S, he's still my perfect sweetheart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.