Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Cutting The Cake in '78

It's been a walk down memory lane looking at the few photos that were taken at our wedding in 1978.  It was a small wedding, the first one at "Sweet Tibbie Dunbar's",  a intimate restaurant on the NE side of Portland.  It no longer exists as a restaurant...I think it is now offices, but it was a lovely spot for a wedding and reception.  We had the wedding at 1 o'clock, officiated by a Judge, in the "garden room" which was filled with vases of lilacs, and attended by our family and a few of our closest friends.  The room was all glass, like a greenhouse, and we had a young gal play the harpsichord--our song was "Just The Way You Are" by Billy Joel.   The judge read poetry (I'm not sure what we chose now), but Bob's father was the best man, and my younger sister was the maid of honor.   All very short and sweet:)  I do remember that just as we were pronounced married, the sun came out and filled the room with light.

More photos:  https://www.flickr.com/photos/sherriestahl/sets/72157650275480837/

We had a much larger reception held upstairs in the library/restaurant area at 2 o'clock, and we invited all of our friends...I always loved all of the books on the walls...very old world.  I wore a "gunny sak" dress, which I'm sure anyone who grew up in the 70's will remember.  I still have it, neatly preserved in a box in the closet.  Bob got a beautiful blue wool suit with vest...he looked handsome.  He just now remarked that he was in a "state of shock", and doesn't remember much...and then he added, "Did we really have a 3 tiered cake?"   Don't you just love men?! 

After the reception we went downtown and stayed at the Hilton Hotel, inviting all of our friends up to our room for champagne, and then we went to dinner in Morgan's Alley downtown...I do not remember the name of the restaurant, only that we really had fun! 

There was no honeymoon, as Bob was taking off for almost a month of classes up in Seattle for Safeco Insurance.  I had 2 children from a previous marriage, and we both had jobs...I think later that summer we went to Hawaii for a honeymoon of sorts.  It is now almost 37 years later...he's still the man I love, my best friend and makes me laugh everyday.  I don't think you can ask for anything more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.