Marsupium Photography

By magi

towards the future

Another tricky choice today. Went to the Persian Chic fashion show at the National Museum of Scotland which was very excellent. I fully expected to use one of the photos from the show. However, I also went to the Public Consultation on the future of the Old Royal High School on Regent Street. It is an amazing building which has always intrigued me. So I was quite pleased to find out that you can visit it. It's a shame it's been more or less unused since the school moved out in the late sixties. Various ideas for the use of the building included a film museum and cinema and the European Youth Parliament. The latest idea is to turn it into a luxury hotel. Which is what the consultation was about. Apart from the usual promises of regenerating the area (which certainly good do with some of that) and extra jobs they also suggest that it would make the building publicly accessible. I don't know, I suspect it won't make it accessible to the majority of people. I would certainly prefer are truly public building such as a museum or the Youth Parliament. Hm, it should get used before it falls apart even further. More pics of the Old Royal High School on flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.