W00dy4012

By W00dy4012

Red-tailed Hawk

I had just gotten back from Thalia Island and went into the back yard to see if anything of interest was there, and there wasn't. I was standing on the pier and noticed five or six crows fly across the creek and put up a racket in the pines upstream. I was sure they had a raptor in their sights. I decided to wait where I was in hopes the bird would make a break for it out over the creek and I could get a good shot. After five or ten minutes, the din died down a bit. I decided the crows' prey was going to hold fast and I might get a shot of the perching bird. I went out to the road and walked toward the estimated location of the todo. I spotted the bird sitting in a tree behind a neighbor's house. When I got the bird in focus, I got off too shots, but the hawk had made a break for between them. I watched as the hawk flew down stream, out in the open, past the pier where I had been waiting for that to happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.