Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Made it with the batteries and memory cards! Phew!

I was up at 6am to get a nice sunrise shot of Eilean Donan Castle. Of course, it was a bit cloudy. But I managed to fiddle around for an hour and half. I knew that as soon as I packed up, the sun would peak through at just the right spot.

I stalked Mr Heron. He was most entertaining. He stood stalk still, staring into the water, and then would tiptoe very carefully to another bit to peer in. I never saw him catching anything, but I admired his patience.

While I was waiting for the opportune moment, I amused myself by taking a multiplicity SP. But I eventually gave up when the midges became too bad, and went back for breakfast.

The strangest breakfast, actually. It says in the website 'Master Chef ***** will prepare your breakfast'... Master Chef? One poached egg, toast, a croissant and a scone?? How well balanced is that? AND the meals came out one plate at a time! I'm no chef, and I can do TWO poached eggs at once! The scones and croissants were kept for later and we hurriedly left without signing the book and telling lies about how wonderful it was.

When we came past the Castle, the sun was up, the tide was in, the sky was blue. I needn't've got up early! Had a wander round the Castle as the gate was open. But as I was clambering around down in the grass in front of it, amongst the bluebells, a man came and gently asked us to leave, as they were opening for paying guests.

We had a fantastic drive down through the Great Glen and Glencoe. With coffee stops and ice cream stops and photo stops, the sun shining and the air con on in the car (a rare occurrence), the ipod on 'shuffle' so that we could compete who knew the song from the first few bars - what could be nicer?

I think the Scottish Government should forget about all this Independence malarky and concentrate all their efforts, money and resources on getting rid of midges!! Much more important for the Scottish economy.

I have back blipped Sunday and Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.