a town called E.

By Eej

Us. Then. The Smitten Beginning.

(backBlip)

Six days ago I flew to the US to visit a man I had been emailing with since July 9th. I was well aware that the internet can be a scary place, and maybe me flying to Michigan to meet someone I had never met was stupid. Or maybe it was the bravest thing I have ever done in my entire life.

Was I scared? Nope.
I knew that even if there wasn't a spark, I'd still have a lovely time with this funny, sweet, nerdy man.
Was my family scared? Nope.
Were his friends? Gawd, yes!
We stayed the night (my plane arrived after 7pm) in a hotel at the airport - where we were interrupted by a stream of texts and calls from people checking to see if I was a. really female and b. not an axe-murderer.

Our friend E. still reminisces about how 'they' made him call and the Beloved said: "No, she hasn't murdered me!" and E. heard me laughing so hard in the background he was all reassured. (Well, that's my story and I'm sticking with it ;))

I love this photo because it's so immensely clear how utterly smitten we are with eachother - and how fortunate we felt (and feel) to have found someone, 5000 miles away, who totally 'gets' us. It's also the very first photo of us together :)

Now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.