White Scar Caves

Another week, another waterfall!

Today we were about a mile down the road from where we walked last Sunday....what difference a week makes.

We could barely see across the road, the mist was so bad. Lucky that we did the waterfall trail last week and saved the caves for today.

We arrived just as the next tour was starting, so we quickly paid and joined the others.

The tour guide was good, he knew his stuff and was quite light hearted with comments.

I worried a little bit as I get claustrophobic in confined spaces, but Mr A reassured me it would be ok. There were a couple of places where we were told to 'gorilla walk' (ie hunch over) to avoid head butting the low ceiling; even a titch like me banged my head a few times, good job we had hard hats on!

The cave is the longest show cave in the UK and was interesting to see.
I liked the straw stalactites that fluoresced in the dark.

The tour didn't seem to last long but we were in there for about 80 minutes.

Today's blip is of the waterfall inside the first part of the cave system; I've added all the rest to my flickr page.

Happy Sunday Blipmates :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.