In Between Days

By jase

Baghill Ticket Office

On my walk with Alana today we passed Baghill train station. This is the old ticket office, now bricked up. Pontefract is odd in that it is a small town with three train stations. The other two are just platforms really but Baghill was, to me, a proper train station with buildings containing a ticket office, a café and waiting rooms. It's now the worst served of the three with just two trains a day between York and Sheffield. The times would not suit working in either city! When I was younger we used to catch the train to York from here. I remember once we had a carriage with the little rooms and a corridor along the side - just like the Hogwart's Express! I also remember Prince Charles visiting Pontefract and crowds lining the road to this station as he departed the town, I'm assuming by train. Something to do with a new drift mine and the colliery being called the Prince of Wales I think.

Put some picture frames up today and printed out some family pictures to go in them. Not a lot else. Wish it wasn't work in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.