Teddy Bear Paws

Well, our hopes of bring Zazu home by Monday (see yesterday's blip) have been dashed.  :-(

When I called first thing this morning for an update (as I do every morning) we were told that he didn't do very well overnight.  In other words, he didn't urinate like they had hoped.  There was a plan in place with the nurses that if he hadn't urinated they were to "pull" out the urine with a needle.  They told me the technical term but I can't remember ...... cysto-something.  So, they did that.  Unfortunately this also means they have to replace the catheter sometime today. 

Because today is Sunday there are limited hours for visitation.  We planned our visit for 1 p.m.  We had to wait a little while after arriving before they took us back.  Before taking us back a nurse came out to tell us that during the catheter placement Zazu's heart stopped briefly, but that he was okay.

OMG!  Start the tears!

But then while we were with him the doctor told us that his heart didn't actually stop but he did have a hard time of it.  Not sure why the nurse told us that in the first place, but we were relieved to hear it wasn't the case.  They had placed Zazu in a larger cage so they could keep an eye on him better today.  The cage was at ground level and large enough for me to actually sit in it with him.  So that's what I did.  That made us both happy. 

In other news ~ I have once again caught up on my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.