The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Last night in Vietnam

The weather in Hanoi was relatively good. I even unzipped my hoodie for a while! I walked around Hoàn Kiếm Lake, explored the streets and was (a little too) adventurous with some local food.

I kept seeing people playing Chinese chess (known locally as cờ tướng) on the streets. The markets were filled with people getting ready for the Chinese New Year festivities.

In the evening I was walking around the hectic night market and saw signs outside one of the expensive backpacker hostels offering "free flow beer" until 9pm, so I went and had a couple of Bia Hơi (the local draft beer).

Sadly it's my last night in Vietnam as I decided to leave a few days before my visa expires and take a rain check on Halong Bay and Sapa so I can come back during a better season to do them properly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.