SueScape

By SueScape

Nostalgia

Harvey excelled himself with today’s mystery lunch as my ‘lollipop’ treat after another hospital visit. We drove into the middle of Havant, Darcy the SatNav showing us the way. We were wondering where on earth she was taking us  in this built up area, when we suddenly ‘arrived at our destination’ – Fourteas , a 1940’s themed teashop. Period adverts on the walls, mismatched china, menus resembling ration books. Jackie our waitress had a wrap around apron and matching turban, Fred Astaire was  ‘Putting on the Ritz’ guaranteed to make our feet tap, with little hand movements to match. I had an absolute ball, not least because of the memories of my grandparents it evoked.  I was born in 1946, rationing still in force but as goods came off rationing, I was allowed to play with the unused ration books. Shopping was known as ‘Going for the Rations’. My grandparents were the first people in the family to own a TV set, and our favourites were the films of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, with maybe Busby Berkley coming a close second. Oh the glamour of it.

Sandwiches and cake were on offer, all freshly made by Molly-Ann in the little kitchen and cheerfully served by Jackie. Next time I’ll have the delicious High Tea. If you want to come away with a smile for the rest of the day (and you are of a certain age), I thoroughly recommend Fourteas Tearoom.
 
 I don't often d people pics, but thought you might like to see the lovely Jackie pouring up Harvey’s second cup of tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.