The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Chiang Mai's Cowboy Hat Lady

After spending a few days in Chiang Mai back in October, I watched the Anthony Bourdain episode where he eats his way around the city. I was annoyed at having missed so much good food here, so I've been waiting for an excuse to come back ever since. The slow boat from here to Laos was the excuse I'd be looking for!

After failing miserably at finding good accommodation, I was forced to stay in a not very nice guesthouse. I'm only paying £3 per night though, so I can't complain! Then I set out to my first Bourdain spot, the famous 'Cowboy Hat Lady'! She serves Khao Kha Moo, stewed pork leg on rice. This place was extremely busy but they bring out the plates so fast that I'd only just sat down by the time mine arrived. It was worthy of the popularity. The portions are small but for only 60p, I was happy to order a second plate of deliciousness!

The lady originally used the hat to stop the glare from the lights but it quickly became her trademark and apparently she's been well known in China long before Bourdain came along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.