Life through the lens...

By ValC

Soleil D'Or

On a dull morning I couldn't resist this bunch of  Soleil D'Or, or  "Golden Sunshine".

Always remind me of my mother, as she loved these flowers.
She always bought a bunch after taking down the Christmas decorations.
In those days they were the first Spring flowers to arrive in the shops.
Grown on the Isles of Scilly, as they have been for 130 years.
They have a very lovely perfume too.

I enjoyed a few hours in the garden yesterday. Trimming back the ivy, and some other shrubs that had grown too large.
This year I wanted to do it early, before the birds start building their nests.
Last year it never got cut, as there always seemed to be a blackbird nesting there.
So this morning it was a trip to the "tip" with three huge bags of garden rubbish.

Yesterday we got a reminder to book our yearly gas service.
Went on line, booked the appointment for today between 10am and 12pm. The young man came at 10.30am. Everything OK. ( Well we knew that!)
Now that's what I call good service!

Thank you for all your comments and stars over the last few days.
I do appreciate them.
Sorry I seem to have got a bit behind with replies and comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.