From Cam to Don

... via the Nene, the Great Ouse, and the Trent - to name a few of the rivers I've crossed today on my Bus Pass Adventure as I returned from Cambridge to Sheffield. After a near disaster at the start, where I caught the wrong bus in Cambridge, (a long story) I quickly got back on track (literally - travelling on a guided bus which runs along concrete tracks between Cambridge and St Ives), through to Peterborough, then onwards to Nottingham via Stamford, Oakham and Melton Mowbray, then to Chesterfield and finally to Sheffield.
I'd hoped there might be a sunny start to the day as it was likely to be my best chance for photos before I caught my first bus but it was dull and overcast. This view of the river was taken on the  short walk from my hotel to the bus stop. Hard to believe it's so close to the city centre. I've really enjoyed my trip, helped out by the great weather on my days in Oxford and Cambridge. Now, where shall I go next?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.