Becca's Life!

By BeccaP

Down the Scotsman Stairs

When I was a teenager these Scotsman stairs between North Bridge and Waverley Station's side entrance were dark, disgusting and smelly. Recently I discovered something had changed, and thanks to an art project in (I think) 2011 they are now beautiful, from the marble treads to the twists and hearts in the cast iron window bars. Apparently they are still a good place to sleep though - I almost fell over a homeless person as I decended them in rapture as part of my morning walk!

I also discovered a bridge leading across the railway from the larger of Princes Street Gardens on my way to work, did work, walked around the back of a housing estate in Musselburgh at lunchtime, and met dad and Petey for dinner at Teviot. And walked to Haymarket afterwards via Waverley - and the Scotsman Stairs! I had to show my dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.