Simplicity

A glorious spring day - it was actually hot! Time seemed to disappear quietly without me noticing...quite a few bits and pieces were achieved but it didn't feel like much was happening. All the computers were serviced, though unfortunately Ben's laptop seems to be on its last legs, though our Computer Man reckoned that four years of ownership by a teenage boy wasn't bad at all! I didn't even have time to find an insect today, but the cow parsley in the orchard is at the peak of perfection, and I particularly liked the simplicity of this macro. I may well be back to insects tomorrow!

Tonight my musical choice is one to raise the spirits. I met Pete in the mid-1980s and once again he widened my musical experience by introducing me to the repertoire of the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, with their quirky and surreal lyrics and catchy tunes. I had been aware of them from the 1968 hit "I'm the Urban Spaceman", but there were many other songs that were new to me. I've chosen "Hunting Tigers" because it went on to become a favourite with my three sons, and has accompanied many a long holiday trip, not to mention celebratory meals. Nowadays we share a few glasses of wine and soon we're all singing along!

I'm afraid the next few days will be spent doing fieldwork fairly intensively so my blip entries will probably be brief!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.