Ogatodomar

By Ogatodomar

THE HORNS OF A PARADOX?

Had my wrists slapped last night over the word "fake"... Seems I have problems with this word.

This is the back end of a Martin Dreadnought made almost entirely from fake wood - Formica back, sides & head plate. The fingerboard is black plastic trying to pass itself off as ebony!

I find this obscene!

On the other hand, after nearly 50 years of guitar playing, guitar making & repairing I know myself to be a consummate faker.

Although I still get these amazing emails from all over the world thanking me for my music - I will always consider myself as a fake musician.

I was told "faking only gets you something you didn't really want" - had to think hard about that - guess I have to agree... I'm no good with "stuff"...

Can say however - I seem to have got what I really want - a talent for self-mockery - and an ability to fake!

Paradox?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.