Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Day trip

No 1 made a trip to my hometown of Glasgow today.

She had an interview at Strathclyde University for a course she had applied for and she said she was very impressed with the Department,  the course synopsis, and the staff.

Afterwards she met a friend who already studies there.

 I know she would LOVE Glasgow - what's not to love!? And she would, at last, get a decent accent!   But I want to keep her here ! There's an ongoing argument with her dad an I - he insists she MUST leave home to 'experience' university life, and if she doesn't she wont make friends.

What rubbish.  I studied in Glasgow and didn't leave home.  I made great friends and a wonderful social life.  I just don't want her getting to the end of her course and then start working life with 20 grand worth of debt!

It seems so acceptable that students have huge debts on graduating.  Yes, I was lucky in that not only were my fees paid, but I received a grant...and thankfully, in Scotland, we don't pay fees - but am I wrong to want her to start working life without the added burden of debt!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.