Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Tasted better than it looks

Pan fried venison fillets on fried bread with potato curry! I thought I'd try something a bit different with my venison today so I made a vegetable curry with diced potatoes, spring onions, regular onions, tomatoes, crushed garlic curry powder and Indian mixed spices. After lightly stir frying all the vegetables with a little chilli oil and spices together I simmered them in water for some time adding a good amount of lemon juice (from a bottle) when everything was thoroughly cooked I added the juice and pulp of a lime and some more chopped spring onions. The venison fillets I pan fried separately in regular sunflower oil heavily seasoned with pepper. While the venison was resting in a warm oven I fried a slice of bread in the same pan I had used for the venison. I saved a slice of lime and some spring onion for garnish.

I'll be the first one to admit that the picture does not looked very appetising but it did taste much better than I expected. The picture is also not that great having a rather shallow field of focus :-(  The curry was very tasty, considering it was entirely vegetarian, it was made with spices I picked up ages ago at the Stockbridge Market and had been sitting in an unlabeled tub ever since, so I probably won't be able to replicate it but the addition of lemon juice and the lime gave it a strong citrus flavour along side the curry spices. I could have happily eaten it without the venison and it did complement the peppery venison nicely. The first time I've actually been pleased with a curry I've made myself. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.