NOT WAVING BUT DROWNING

I have begun clearing out my clutter, part of the search for the ancient shopping list, and found a suitcase full of old memories. Flicking through a brochure of Cornwall I came across this photo of Polzeath. We went there on holiday when I was about 5 years old and way out in the bay a freak wave upturned the rubber dinghy I was in, Dad was pulling it, and threw me out. I was under the water for a long time and Dad couldn't find me. I was saved by my Grandad who had seen what had happened from the beach and ran all the way out to where he had seen me go under. I still have a very clear memory of kneeling on the bottom saying goodbye to each of my family in turn.

I was much further out than you thought   
And not waving but drowning.

Stevie Smith

Moral: wear a lifejacket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.