One Day Like This...

By LicentiousLib

A little leek

Having no car today (my little Panda is in the garage for repairs) I've been kinda housebound.
That's not really a bad thing, I'm far too easily distracted sometimes.

My 12 year old daughter is off school too (in service training day). She was happy just pottering around so I went and did some bits and pieces in the studio again.

I've been asked to take a few pieces of jewellery down to a couple of local shops next week. I'm really struggling with what to make, searching for inspiration. I know the kind of things I like, but is that what would sell? Generic, slightly cheesy inspirational stuff perhaps? Hmmmm. I don't want to compromise my newly emerging 'style'.... Ooh - listen to me. Pretentious? Moi?? ;-)

I had a few breaks, nice wanders round my garden. I have a real passion for shapes and structure. Flowers aren't my primary focus, never have been. A gardener who's not fond of flowers - who'd've thought?!

I noticed a little pot of house leeks (Sempervivum) beside my pond that I'd never got round to planting. It had grown beautifully and was spilling out and down the side. I really adore the intricate and complicated shape, the shading on the succulent, fleshy leaves, even the soft delicate hairs. Stunning.

And a phone call from the garage - the 'fast cure' sealant putty isn't. Apparently.
Perhaps it doesn't like the cold?
So it's staying there 'til tomorrow. Otherwise when they refill it with oil, it may just all drain out again. Now, I'm no mechanic, but even I know that wouldn't be good.

Why is it I suddenly think of SO many places I urgently need to be? ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.