The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Khao soi

I rented a bicycle and went back to the Khao soi restaurant I'd tried to visit yesterday. Khao soi is a Northern Thai curry with Burmese influences which I've had a few times. It's always topped with crispy fried noodles (like in the photo). As expected it was complex, delicious and the best I've had.

Like most of the tastiest local food I've experienced in South East Asia, it was by the side of a road with small plastic chairs, no attempt at catering for tourists (in a good way) and with the cooking area in full view.

In the evening I took a couple of fellow travellers to the Cowboy Hat Lady and had an even better experience as we shared a larger portion of the pork which was more succulent and flavoursome. Plus I added the chilli sauce (which I think was fermented) which definitely improved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.