Playing

I have quite fancied a Camranger wireless remote monitor  but at around £250 they are too expensive.

I came across this alternative which uses exactly the same hardware available for around £30 and an Android App.

The white box is a portable wifi router and it is necessary to update the firmware with a file available from the web.   It then works just like a Camranger (on my phone at least).    It took about 20 minutes to get it up and running following the excellent instructions on the web.

It's great fun and has potential for nature shots in the garden as I can monitor the camera from within the house,  adjust focus, exposure etc  and fire it remotely.  It even downloads photos to my Android phone for viewing.

This photo shows it attached to Jane's Canon 700d with the streamed image on my phone.

I'm afraid it only works with Canon cameras and Android phones/tablets at present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.