Galanthus Viridapice.

"And now, for something completely slightly, different".
Once upon a time there were "Snowdrops", then there were Double Snowdrops.
Not all that long ago, relatively squeaking, I discovered they were "Galanthus nivalis". Later still, I started to bump into different varieties.
Known score to date.
"Common or Garden" - nivalis.
Ditto - double.
Galanthus Elwesii
Galanthus - Viridapice - above.
Galanthus woronowii
Most recently Wendy's Gold - just starting to poke out.
I think I can, safely, say I'm "all agog" with anticipation.

NOT, I might add that I'm keen enough to pay THESE sort of prices:-
Stolen quote from "The Garudian"
"The unusual flower, with a yellow head and yellow markings on white petals, was spotted about ten years ago in a Perthshire garden among the more common green and white varieties.
Ian Christie, a local nurseryman, spotted the “one in ten million” plant and has managed to propagate a new variation from a single bulb named Elizabeth Harrison.
Yesterday, he sold the first specimen on eBay for £725.10, more than twice as much as the previous record of £350 achieved earlier this year He said the money will go towards helping the elderly couple maintain their garden, which has become more challenging in recent years."

I believe any right thinking Cumbrian/Wigtonian would agree with me that
"Yan wad hev t'be radge to lash oot that much."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.