Sydney

By Sydney

Duke

My friend, Peggy, whom I met when I was 5 years old, had two sets of grandparents who were affectionately called "NannyAnny and Poopon" and "Neenee and Potsie". Since Peggy's parents became close friends of my parents, my father had ample time to build a healthy fear of becoming a Poopon or a Potsie. He decided early on to control the situation and choose his own moniker once he attained grandfather status. He really wanted my girls to call him "Cap'n" as he's always been a sailor but even before they were born the rest of us simply couldn't get the hang of it so it fell by the wayside. Eventually he settled on 'Duke' ('Prince' connoting too much youth and/or a canine bent and 'King' being too stuffy) and the children began using their little smiling mouths to call him by what is now his name, funny how these things develop.

This photo is my dad talking to the two young men who will take care of his boat (left) while he travels to California for a month and then in May to England for a month. They have rewired the bilge pump and rigged the tarps cleverly, ensuring the wind won't blow them away.

I drove to dad's for a hug and a talk about my future plans~or rather lack thereof. I had emailed him of my decision to resign my teaching job and not return next year. He knew I was unhappy there, he knew I was finding it difficult to continue but it still caught him off guard.

All my life my father has taught me by example. He has not always taken the path that seemed to be the most lucrative one, he sometimes he did not achieve what he had hoped for when he made a career change. But he always learned something valuable, the insights from which he has freely shared with me and my brother. His wisdom colors my choices, it levels my highs and lows, offers a balance that guides me when making decisions and always in my reflections. And I am grateful. He is my hero. And I love him. And I needed his input on this change that loomed so large and inescapably on my horizon. Had he flung his arms about and wailed at the stupidity of my leaving my job I may not have chosen to return next year but it would have certainly given me SERIOUS pause. I suspect I would have let his 'reality check' knock me back to work, such is the strength of my respect for his judgement. But he hugged me, gave me a kiss and said my health and happiness were the important considerations.

So today I had a meeting with my supervisor, whom I like very much, and officially resigned at the end of this school year. He forwarded my email to the HR person who will present it to the school board at their next meeting.
It's done. I'm done. My plans are flying in the wind at the moment, not sure who I will reinvent myself to be. Thank you all for your kind and lovely comments. It saddens me that so many of you can relate so well! But you have lent me much courage and smiles and I hold you all in my heart with great appreciation and love. And now that I am going to be free...I may travel to have tea and cake with each of you! Hope you don't find that threatening :)
Love and great thanks to each of you. Blip remains home after all. xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.