Nightmare

Actually the only nightmare was deciding where to crop this image. 
I have a new interest - which is, of course, intertwined with all my other interests.

This is an Australian mistletoe. I have discovered that there at some 90 species of mistletoe endemic to Australia, none of which are any relation whatsoever to the mistletoe which is so well-known in the northern hemisphere.

This particular species - drooping mistletoe (Amyema pendula), is propagated by none other than the mistletoe bird.  Therefore that means that we can expect to see mistletoe birds in a few weeks when this plant produces berries.  It is also host to a really beautiful butterfly, the Wood White (Delias aganippe). 

To be honest if I were to see either the bird or the butterfly, I would be utterly overcome. My hands would shake, I wouldn't be able to focus properly, it would be another nightmare.

In the meantime, I am quite happy with this beautiful plant, which hosted by a tree just across the road.

When I was out the with the camera, the neighbours came home (somewhat embarrassingly, because technically although it's on the outside of their fence it's still on their land).  But they didn't really mind.  I think they are quite used to this mad woman batting around taking photos of miniscule objects which no-one can see, let along notice.

If you are interested there is a great article on the ABC Science website, about Australian mistletoe.  Unfortunately it's way to long to include here, which is a shame.

I can guarantee you'll be seeing more of these fascinating plants which are so important to our birds and insects.

Do have a look in large - it's mind-blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.