Facade

This is the north side of Warrender Park Road, which has to my mind one of the finest facades in Marchmont. It is a road which has always been part of my life. I walked along this road as a 6 year old coming home from school on my own, and all these years later I walk the length of it when I go to and from Bruntsfield. The only difference I see now is the number of cars parked when before there was none, and the window frames now universally white instead of the dark green of my childhood.

We have re-discovered a watering hole near here which has changed hands recently and is no longer a meeting place for the Marchmont yummy mummies, and therefore very civilised for a couple of old retired codgers who have outgrown the pleasure of hearing babies crying and stepping round endless parked buggies.
Now we just have to find a space to sit between students and their lap tops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.