Family Dog

By Family_Dog

run and become...again...

I have been threatening myself with doing this again for ages but I have been finding many, many, many excuses not to.

To be honest, it takes thirty minutes and almost as soon as I leave the house I am glad that I went out and did it. It's so nice to get out, alone, to do something for thirty minutes that is for you and only you. It wasn't a particularly lovely day this morning when I toddled out, bitingly cold actually, but I knew my nose and bum (I always have a freezing bum, what's that all about?) would warm up soon enough. 

I've never made it past week 6 - terrible - and whilst 98% of the reason for giving in is that is that I am a lazy couch potato at heart, there is a whole 2% down to the fact that that the music is chronic. AWFUL! Sometimes I feel like I'm trying to run away from it, rather than get fit, but the bloody thing just keeps following me! 

I shall try to keep going this time round, and maybe one day I'll be able to run for a period of time long enough to just play my own tunes.... that will be my incentive this time.

There's always so many random thoughts that trip through my head when I'm running. They mainly involve whether the dog up ahead is going to start chasing and attacking me, but useful thoughts about my writing do pop in from time to time.

A group of old(ish) dog walkers cheered me up at one point which lead me to marvel over the idea that I almost always dread approaching a group of people for fear someone's going to make a horrible comment and I've not had one yet. Today's cheer was 'COME ON GIRL, YOU CAN DO IT!!!'. It made me grin all the way home.

As a reward I get home and have a massive chocolate cake. As a reward I switch off the NHS music early and play my own tunes for the 5 minute cool-down walk home and that is a reward, let me tell ya! Today's wee shuffle treat was this wee number.

Gave me enough energy to skip back along the road for a long bath and a read of not one, but TWO, magazines.

Days off rock, don't they? Yes they do...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.